Lo Mein

Lo mein is one of my favorite things to order while getting Chinese food. I could seriously eat it every day if you let me, but alas, the calories. Nonetheless, I figured it is better for me to make lo mein at home, as I can control the salt and more importantly, no MSG.

My photography sucks, bear with me, I will figure it out.

Recipe adapted from

Annie’s Eats who adapted from Elly Says Opa!

Chicken Lo Mein (without the chicken)

Ingredients:
6 oz. lo mein noodles
1 tbsp. oyster sauce (doubled)
2 tbsp. low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup chicken broth
Pinch red pepper flakes
1/2 tbsp. canola oil
1 medium chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces (I omitted and added carrots and spinach)
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, seeded and sliced thin (I omitted and added carrots and spinach)
1 cup snow peas (I omitted and added carrots and spinach)
4 oz. sliced mushrooms (I omitted and added carrots and spinach)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. sesame oil

Directions:
Bring a pot of water to boil.  Cook the lo mein noodles according to the package directions.  Drain and set aside.  In the meantime, make the sauce by combining the oyster sauce, soy sauce, chicken broth and red pepper flakes in a small bowl.  Whisk well and set aside.

Heat the canola oil in a large nonstick skillet or wok over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken to the pan and cook until browned and cooked through.  Add in the vegetables, each a few minutes apart, starting with the onion and bell pepper and ending with the mushrooms.  Cook just until tender-crisp.  Add in the garlic and saute just until fragrant, about 1 minute.

Add the sauce to the pan, and then the cooked lo mein noodles.  Toss the mixture well to coat everything.  Drizzle with the sesame oil and toss once more.  Serve immediately.

2 Responses

  1. yummmm this sounds delicious! I’ve never even thought of making my own lo-mein… I’ll definitely try to make this later!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

